Matongo Boys High School started in January 1965 as a Harambee Secondary School with Mr. Abel Ongosi as the first Head of the institution. The form one class started with a population of 36 students. Rev. James Otete Nchoguserved as the first chairman of the board of governors.

MBHS was started by the community members with the assistance of the Swedish Lutheran Mission (S.L.M.) as the sponsor- the sponsor’s name later changed to Evangelical Lutheran Church of Kenya (ELCK). Some of the community members who spearheaded the start of the school include:- Rev. Jephta Michoro, Mr. Hudson Nyambache, Mr. James Maraga, Mr. Andrea Seremani, Mr. Johana Makori, Mr. Mogambi Nyairo, Mr. Samwel Mogeni, Mr. John Erickson (Swedish), Mr. Isaac Twabe Nyabuto and others.

Due to the rising demand of students wanting to join form one from the locality, the need to establish a secondary school was felt and hence necessitating the start of Matongo Harambee Secondary School. The only existing schools in the larger Kisii district were:- African Government School (Kisii School), Bishop Otunga Secondary School (Mosocho) and Itierio Secondary School (which was also established by the Lutheran Missionaries).

At the start, the secondary school occupied two classrooms donated by the management and stakeholders of the Matongo Primary School. The operations of the secondary school were limited to form two and not allowed to have the form three and four classes. Those students who completed their form two went through the Kenya Junior Secondary Examinations (KJSE) before proceeding to other secondary schools for their forms three and form four

 classes. Others joined teachers training colleges. It was until 1972 when the school proceeded to form three and thereafter the school took its first form four exams (the East African Certificate of Education in 1973). At this stage the primary school section was moved out and relocated to its present site creating room for the secondary school’s development.

Over the period of the school’s existence, many of her  students have made it to public universities/colleges, graduating in disciplines like Engineering, Aviation, Education and others moving on to acquire doctoral degrees. To cite just a few: Dr. Isaac Keengwe (practising in Great Britain) being the first student of MBHS to score Division I of 14points in 1974, Eng. Charles Rioba of “Solar World” who attained Division I of 6 points. 

Following are the principals who have served the school from its inception:


YearName of Principal
19651966Mr. Abel Ongosi
19671968Mr. Isaiah Okirigiti
19691970Mr. Barake Sagwe
19701973Mr. Jackson M. Arati
19741984Mr. Edson Otiso Abuga
19851988Mr. John Kerage Matonda
19892001Mr. Samwel Omambia
20012002Mr. Buop A. O.
20022008Mr. James Machogu B.
20092015Mr. Richard Ariemba
20152016Mr Rawlings Juma
2016To dateMr Tom Surumo


Following are the Board Chairpersons who have served the school since inception:

1965- 1993Rev. James Otete Nchogu
1994- 1998Mr. Samwel Nyangau Nyanchama
1999- 2001Mr. Alexander Mogambi
2002- 2008Mr. Jimmy Memba
2009 -2014Rev. John Osugo
2014 To dateMr Gilbert Ogutu


The Best grades attained from 2000 to 2017 are as follows:

YearBest Grade AttainedYearBest Grade Attained


















































































Related pages

Article Guide | Journalism Policy All Rights Reserved. Copyright © MATONGO BOYS HIGH SCHOOL 2021. Powered by Elimu Holdings .

Terms | Privacy


Please pick the category that fits you best